Masterworks 2: A Little Mahler

November 6, 2021 | Chico
November 7, 2021 | Redding

Conductor: Scott Seaton

Guest Soloists:
Tim Koop, flute
Candace LiVolsi, harp

MOZART  Concerto for Flute and Harp
MAHLER  Symphony No. 1 (Arr. Klaus Simon)

Jessie Montgomery

The magnificent melodic elegance of Mozart is on display when NSS Principal Flute Tim Koop and Principal Harp Candace LiVolsi share an age-old dialogue that suggests a conversation between a father and a daughter in the Concerto for Flute and Harp.  The program is centered around the “Titan” Symphony of Gustav Mahler.  Despite the reduction of forces, this version of this outstanding symphony will not fail to stir the soul and leave you with a determined sense that anguish and loneliness can be banished and the human spirit will triumph.  The program begins with Jessie Montgomery’s Banner, a work commissioned in 2014 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the Star Spangled Banner.